Photography: DSLR

Since getting a new phone nearly a year ago I’ve been taking photos regularly, helped of course by taking part in Project365.

I’m over halfway through Project365 now and while it’s been difficult at times, I’ve really enjoyed it at other times. It’s kept me thinking about photography and reminded me how much I like the hobby.

So, I’ve decided to get more serious and finally buy myself a proper camera. It was almost on a whim that I asked on Facebook about possibly getting a DSLR. The feedback I got since then (plus a bit of extra thinking and compliments about my photography) convinced me that I really should take the plunge.

After a week of intensive research, I have bought myself a second-hand Nikon D80 with a 18-105mm f3.5/5.6G ED VR lens. These are all words and abbreviations that meant nothing to me 9 days ago, but I’ve learned a lot since then and have been helped out by a number of friends. I’m still waiting for the lens to arrive, but I can’t wait to try it out.

I’ll be writing future posts on what exactly a DSLR is and how I get on with one soon.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment